#KEYLife

Key School Earns Maryland Green School Certification

The Key School has officially earned Maryland Green School Certification by the Maryland Association of Environmental & Outdoor Education. This designation comes after a lengthy application process that required an in-depth review of the School's programs and philosophy as well as substantiation of a sustained dedication to environmental initiatives.

Upper School Service Learning in Thailand

A group of twenty-four Upper School students experienced village life in the hill tribes of northwestern Thailand first-hand as part of their service-learning trip during spring break.

Calendar

Faculty & Staff Directory

A to E

Randi Altschuler

School Counselor
Middle, Upper School

raltschuler@keyschool.org
B.S. Boston University
M.S.W. Catholic University of America

Katherine Anderson

School Nurse
kanderson@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Florida
B.S. Johns Hopkins University
M.S. University of Florida

Cindi Asquith

Administrative Assistant
Upper School
casquith@keyschool.org

Nina Austin

Academic Technology Department Head
Technology Integrator
First, Lower School
naustin@keyschool.org
B.A. High Point University
M.S. McDaniel College

Angela Baccala

Library Department Head
Librarian
First, Lower School
abaccala@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Maryland
M.L.S. University of Maryland

Sasha Baker

Learning Specialist
Middle School
sbaker@keyschool.org
B.A. St. Johns College

Makeba Barnes

Assistant Director of Admission
Office of Admission
mbarnes@keyschool.org
B.A. Howard University
M.S. Johns Hopkins University

Delia Bauckham-Ruoff

Administrative Assistant
Middle School
druoff@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Durham, England

Helen Baxt

Executive Assistant to the Head of School

Laura Burrell Baxter

Director of College Advising
Upper School
lbaxter@keyschool.org
B.A. Dickinson College
M.S. Johns Hopkins University

Paul Bayne

Outdoor Education Department Head
pbayne@keyschool.org
B.A. Washington College
B.S. Washington College

Margaret Beck

Assistant to College Advisor; Registrar
Upper School
mbeck@keyschool.org
B.S. MacMurray College
M.S. University of Wisconsin, Madison

Marina Becker

French
Lower, Middle, Upper School
mbecker@keyschool.org
B.A. Universite du Maine
M.A. Universite Stendahl Grenoble 3

Jeanette Beigel ‘04

First Grade
Lower School
jbeigel@keyschool.org
B.A. Mount St. Mary’s University
M.Ed. Loyola University

Ronnie Blackstone

Kindergarten Assistant
First School
rblackstone@keyschool.org

Brian Boyd

Athletic Director
Humanities
Upper School
bboyd@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Chicago
M.A. Catholic University of America

Kevin Brady

Orff Schulwerk Music Department Co-Head
Music
First, Lower, Middle School
kbrady@keyschool.org
B.A. Augustana College
Orff Schulwerk Certification, The San Francisco School

Wendy Braithwaite

Librarian
Middle School
wbraithwaite@keyschool.org
B.F.A. University of Illinois, Urbana
J.D. Loyola University of Chicago

Peter Branscombe

Fourth Grade
Lower School
pbranscombe@keyschool.org
B.A. Colgate University
M.Ed. Lesley College

Catherine Parker Briggs

Second Grade
Lower School
cparker@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Florida

Victoria Brunt

Physical Education
Lower, Middle School
vbrunt@keyschool.org
B.A. George Washington University

Vicki Bushmann

Pre-Kindergarten
First School
vbushmann@keyschool.org
B.A. Baylor University
M.Ed. Lesley College

Rosalind Calvin

Admission Counselor
Office of Admission
rcalvin@keyschool.org
B.A. Princeton University
M.B.A. Harvard Business School

Jake Child ‘03

Humanities
Upper School
jchild@keyschool.org
B.A. St. Mary’s College of Maryland

Carol Churches

Pre-School Assistant
First School
After School Program
cchurches@keyschool.org
A.A. Frederick Community College

Eileen Cimbolic

Foreign Language Department Head
French
Middle School
ecimbolic@keyschool.org
B.A. Montclair State College

Susan Clayton

Accounts Receivable/Accounts Payable Manager
Business Office
sclayton@keyschool.org
A.A. Western Wisconsin Technical Institute
B.S. University of Maryland, University College

Nancy Conroy

Third Grade
Lower School
nconroy@keyschool.org
B.A. Boston College

Jonathan Coslick

Physical Education
Lower, Middle School
jcoslick@keyschool.org
B.S. Frostburg State University

Lydia Crooks

Technology Integrator
First, Lower School
Librarian, First School
lcrooks@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Maryland

Charles Cully

Security
ccully@keyschool.org

Paige Cumberpatch

First Grade Assistant
Lower School
pcumberpatch@keyschool.org
L’Universite D’Aix, Marseille, France
International Training Center, Bournemouth, England

Bethani DaGrossa

Kindergarten Assistant
First School
bdagrossa@keyschool.org
B.A. University of New Orleans

Paula DeWitt

Third Grade
Lower School
pdewitt@keyschool.org
B.S. Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Carol Dunham

Pre-Kindergarten Assistant
First School
cdunham@keyschool.org
B.A. Mary Washington College of the University of Virginia

Cara Ebner

Music
First, Lower, Middle School
cebner@keyschool.org
B.A. James Madison University
M.A. George Mason University
Orff Schulwerk Certification, George Mason University

Sherine El-Warraki

Arabic
Upper School
selwarraki@keyschool.org
B.A. The American University in Cairo
M.A. The American University in Cairo

Liz Elliott

After School Library Supervisor
Upper School
lelliott@keyschool.org

Clay Evans

Advancement Services Associate
Advancement Office
cevans@keyschool.org
B.A. Hollins College

Courtney Evans

Mathematics; Math Lab
Middle School
clevans@keyschool.org
B.S. Salisbury University
M.A. McDaniel College

Caroline Ewing

Director of Finance & Operations
Business Office
cewing@keyschool.org
B.A. Western Maryland College
M.B.A. Loyola College

F to J

Brad Feldman

Mathematics
Upper School
bfeldman@keyschool.org
B.A. Elon University

Becky Fetters

First Grade
Lower School
bfetters@keyschool.org
B.S. Shippensburg University
M.A. Loyola College

Keely Fitzpatrick ’98

Humanities
Middle School
Outdoor Education
Middle, Upper School
kfitzpatrick@keyschool.org
B.A. Hobart and William Smith Colleges
M.A. University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Jane Flanagan

Director of Summer Programs and Auxiliary Services
Business Office
jflanagan@keyschool.org
A.A. Baltimore International Culinary College
A.A. Haywood Technical College

Charles Ford

Bus Driver
Facilities
cford@keyschool.org

Susan Fritz

Pre-School
First School
sfritz@keyschool.org
A.A. Anne Arundel Community College
B.A. University of Maryland, Baltimore
M.A. Champlain University

Cynthia Gales

Controller
Business Office
cgales@keyschool.org
B.A. SUNY Oswego
M.A. Dowling College

Trish Gallant

Parent Programs & Special Events Director
Advancement Office
tgallant@keyschool.org
B.A. Temple University

Caitlin Ginter

Communication Associate
Communication Office
cginter@keyschool.org
B.A. Gettysburg College
M.A. Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania

Stephen Ginter

Director of Advancement and Alumni Relations
Advancement Office
sginter@keyschool.org
B.A. Gettysburg College

Vanessa Gutierrez

Reading Specialist
First, Lower School
vgutierrez@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Colorado at Boulder
M.A. Loyola Marymont University

Katherine Haas

Science
Lower School
khaas@keyschool.org
B.A. University of North Dakota

Michael Harrison

Spanish
Upper School
mharrison@keyschool.org
B.A. Ohio Wesleyan University
M.A. Middlebury College School, Spain

Lee Ann Havard

Learning Specialist & Writing Lab Coordinator
Upper School
lhavard@keyschool.org
B.S. University of Maryland
M.Ed. University of Maryland

Susan Hays

Mathematics; Math Lab
Upper School
shays@keyschool.org
B.S. Webb Institute of Naval Architecture

Hallie Herz

Humanities
Middle School
hhertz@keyschool.org
B.A. Bates College

Ginger Hildebrand

Director of Ensembles
ghildebrand@keyschool.org
B.A. Dickinson College
M.M. Peabody Institute of the Johns Hopkins University

Mary Hill

English; Humanities
Upper School
mhill@keyschool.org
B.A. Sarah Lawrence College
M.F.A. Columbia University

Elizabeth Hollick

Humanities
Middle School
ehollick@keyschool.org
B.A. Denison University
M.Ed. Towson University

Jennifer Holt

Mathematics
Middle School
jholt@keyschool.org
B.A. St. Mary’s College of Maryland
M.A. University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Catherine Hudson

Learning Department Head
Learning Specialist
First, Lower School
chudson@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Maryland
M.S.Ed. Johns Hopkins University

Lindsay Johnson ’07

Dance
Middle, Upper School
ljohnson@keyschool.org
B.S. Indiana University

Aaron Jolie ’84

Assistant Facilities Manager

Sarah Judd

Learning Specialist
Middle School
sjudd@keyschool.org
B.A. Johns Hopkins University
M.A. Northwestern University

Kathryn Junkins

Mathematics; Science
Middle School
kjunkins@keyschool.org
B.S. Salisbury University
M.A. Notre Dame of Maryland University

K to O

Andrew Katz

Visual Arts Department Head
Art
Middle School
akatz@keyschool.org
B.F.A. Maryland Institute College of Art
M.A.T. Maryland Institute College of Art

Tatiana Klein

Spanish
Upper School
tklein@keyschool.org
B.A. Duquesne University
A.D. Peabody Institute of Johns Hopkins University
M.S. Johns Hopkins University

Sharon Kraynak

Science
First School
skraynak@keyschool.org
B.S. Youngstown State University

Jaymie Krens

Fourth Grade
Lower School
jkrens@keyschool.org
B.A. SUNY at Old Westbury
M.S. Long Island University at C.W. Post

Alice Larner

Pre-School Assistant
First School
alarner@keyschool.org

Irfan Latimer

Director of Communication
Communication Office
ilatimer@keyschool.org
A.B. Sweet Briar College

Rick Layton

Performing Arts Department Head
Music
Middle, Upper School
rlayton@keyschool.org
B.S. West Chester University
M.M. University of Maryland
Ph.D. University of Maryland
Orff Schulwerk Certification, New England Conservatory of Music

Emily Legum

Lower School Division Head
elegum@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Pittsburgh
M.A. University of Pittsburgh

Laurel Lennon

Humanities
Middle School
llennon@keyschool.org
B.A. St. Lawrence University
M.A. Teachers College Columbia University

Babette Leshinsky

Foreign Language Department Head
French
Upper School
bleshinsky@keyschool.org
Palais Universitaire de Strasbourg
B.A. University of the State of New York

Dylan Lewis

Math Department Head
Middle School
Mathematics
Middle, Upper School
dlewis@keyschool.org
B.S. Florida Institute of Technology

Meeghan Lewis

Key-Wee Assistant
First School
After School Program
Lower School

mlewis@keyschool.org

Kathryn Lidard

French
Lower, Upper School
klidard@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Maryland

Derek Lieske

Physics
Upper School
dlieske@keyschool.org
B.A. Colgate University

Shawn Livingston

Server & Desktop Specialist
slivingston@keyschool.org
B.A. Houghton College
M.A. Wesley Seminary

Mary MacLeod

Communication Associate
Communication Office
mmacleod@keyschool.org
B.A. Regis College
M.A. University of Chicago
M.P.M. University of Maryland

Alyssa MacMeekin

Science
Upper School
amacmeekin@keyschool.org
B.S. Muhlenberg College
M.A.T. The Citadel Military College of South Carolina

David Magnus

Middle School Division Head
dmagnus@keyschool.org
B.A. Middlebury College
M.A. University of Maryland

Carol Mahoney

Assistant to the Lower School
Lower School
cmahoney@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Maryland
M.A. Michigan State University
M.A. College of Notre Dame of Maryland

Dawn Malosh

Art
First, Lower School
After School Program
dmalosh@keyschool.org
B.Ed Northern Arizona University

Gregory Markowitz

Humanities
Upper School
gmarkowitz@keyschool.org
B.A. Middlebury College
M.A. St. Johns College

Alexis Martin

Assistant Athletic Director
Athletic Trainer
amartin@keyschool.org
B.S. Salisbury University
M.S. Old Dominion University

Cheryl Martin

Director of Financial Aid
Senior Admission Counselor
Office of Admission
cmartin@keyschool.org
B.S. University of Phoenix

Robert McCarthy

Humanities Department Head
Humanities
Upper School

bmccarthy@keyschool.org
B.A. Williams College
Ph.D. Boston University

Crysten McKenzie

Academic Support Teacher
Lower School
Before School Care Coordinator
cmckenzie@keyschool.org
B.S. Mount St. Mary’s University

Jon McKinley

IT Systems & Network Administrator
jmckinley@keyschool.org
B.A. Houghton College

Brian Michaels

Upper School Division Head
bmichaels@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Pennsylvania
M.S. University of Miami

Bridgette Michaels

Administrative Assistant
First School
bomichaels@keyschool.org
B.S. University of the West Indies
Ph.D. University of Miami

Heather Montague

Learning Specialist
Middle, Upper School
hmontague@keyschool.org
B.A. Duke University
M.S. Johns Hopkins University

Adryon Montgomery

Data & Office Manager
Office of Admission
admontgomery@keyschool.org

Jenifer "Jeje" Moore

Science Coordinator
Lower School
jjmoore@keyschool.org
B.A. Virginia Tech University

Erin Morgan ’74

Second Grade
Lower School
emorgan@keyschool.org
B.S. University of Maryland

Geofrey Morgan

Facilities
gmorgan@keyschool.org

Paula Morse

First School Division Head
Director of Before School Care & After School Program
pmorse@keyschool.org
B.A. Michigan State University
M.A. University of Michigan

Garnet Mowatt

Music
Lower School
gmowatt@keyschool.org
D.M.E. Edna Manley College of Visual and Performing Arts, Jamaica
M.M. University of Mississippi
Ph.D. University of Mississippi
Orff Schulwerk, Level I I, George Mason University

Matthew Nespole

Head of School
mnespole@keyschool.org
B.A. Bates College
M.A. Columbia University

Beth Neumann

Administrative Assistant
Lower School
bneumann@keyschool.org

Aaron Norris

Osprey’s Nest Proprietor
anorris@keyschool.org
A.A. Anne Arundel Community College

Heather Nye

Administrative Assistant
Middle School
hnye@keyschool.org
B.A. Colorado College

Jacqueline Olson

Pre-School
First School
jolson@keyschool.org
B.A. James Madison University
M.A. Notre Dame of Maryland University

Nicholas Olson

Theater Director
Middle, Upper School
nolson@keyschool.org
B.A. Middlebury College
M.A. St. John’s College

Renee Olson

Assistant to the First School
rolson@keyschool.org
B.S. Mankato State University


P to S

Tracy Patel

Assistant to the Director of Auxiliary Services
Business Office
tpatel@keyschool.org
B.S. West Virginia University

Matthew Plumb

Art
Upper School
mplumb@keyschool.org
B.F.A. Syracuse University
M.F.A. Purchase College, State University of New York

Katherine "Keith" Porterfield

Science
Middle School
kporterfield@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Vermont
M.S. University of Maryland

Mary Anne Rathmann

First Grade Assistant
Lower School
mrathmann@keyschool.org
B.A. Trinity College
J.D. Boston College

Kimberly Reddy

Technology Integrator
Middle, Upper School
kreddy@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Delaware
M.Ed. Univeristy of Maryland
Ph.D. Univeristy of Maryland

Elizabeth Reid

French
Upper School
ereid@keyschool.org
B.S. University of Georgia

Cara Riedel

Mathematics; Science
Middle School
criedel@keyschool.org
B.A. New College of Florida
M.A. University of Maryland, College Park

Justine Rosenberg

Major Gifts & Planned Gifts Director
Advancement Office
jrosenberg@keyschool.org
B.A. University of California

Margie Ross

Communication Associate
Communication Office
mross@keyschool.org
B.S. University of Maryland

Thomas Rossini

Director of Enrollment and Outreach
trossini@keyschool.org
B.A. Emerson College
M.A. New York University

Eli Roth

Annual Fund Director
Advancement Office
eroth@keyschool.org
B.A. St. Mary’s College of Maryland
M.B.A. Hood College

Joseph Santora

Director of Facilities
jsantora@keyschool.org

Helena Sauma

Spanish
Middle School
hsauma@keyschool.org
B.S. University of Maryland, University College
M.S. University of Maryland, University College

Sonya Fisher Sava

Key-Wee
First School
ssava@keyschool.org
B.S. University of Arkansas

Daniel Schmoyer

Physical Education Department Head
First, Lower School
dschmoyer@keyschool.org
B.A. Governors State University

Daniel Schoos

Latin; Physics
Outdoor Education Adjunct
Upper School
dschoos@keyschool.org
B.A. St. John’s College
M.A. University of Pittsburgh

Jacqueline Schrader

Music
Lower, Middle School
jschrader@keyschool.org
B.Mus.Ed. Drake University
Orff Schulwerk Certification, University of St. Thomas

Lee Schreitz ’70

Coordinator of Upper School Student Activities
Outdoor Education
Middle, Upper School
lschreitz@keyschool.org
B.A. Norwich University, Vermont College

Phil Schuman

Humanities
Middle School
pschuman@keyschool.org
B.A. Washington College
M.A. Washington College

Susan Shields

Art
Upper School
sshields@keyschool.org
B.A. Indiana University
M.S.Ed. Indiana University

John Starr

Jazz Ensemble
Upper School
jstarr@keyschool.org
B.A. Washington College

David Sunshine

Orff Schulwerk Music Department Co-Head
Coordinator of Instrumental Lessons
Music
Lower, Middle School
dsunshine@keyschool.org
B.A. Trenton State College
Orff Schulwerk Certification, George Mason University


T to V

Diana Toebbe

Humanities
Upper School
dtoebbe@keyschool.org
B.A. University of California, Santa Cruz
Ph.D. Emory University

Jennifer Tonkin

Math Department Head
Mathematics
Upper School
jtonkin@keyschool.org
B.A. Lafayette College
M.S. University of Delaware

Sally Trapp

Learning Specialist
First, Lower School
strapp@keyschool.org
B.S. Michigan State University
M.A. Michigan State University
M.Ed. Bowie State University

Michele Trifiro

After School Program Coordinator
First, Lower, Middle School
After School Program
mtrifiro@keyschool.org
B.S. University of Maryland
M.S. Western Maryland College

Tom Trueblood

Database Manager
Advancement Associate
Advancement Office
ttrueblood@keyschool.org

Christy Urban

Science
Middle School
After School Program
curban@keyschool.org
B.A. Fairfield University

Lucia Vong

French
Middle School
lvong@keyschool.org
B.A. Conservatory of Music, Saigon, Vietnam

W to Z

Karin Walsh

Kindergarten
First School
kwalsh@keyschool.org
B.A. Worcester State College
M.S. Bank Street College

George Waymouth

Science Department Head
Science
Middle School
gwaymouth@keyschool.org
B.S. Bates College
M.Ed. Beaver College

Wendy Waymouth

Kindergarten
First School
wwaymouth@keyschool.org
B.A. Bates College

Erin Weiss

School Counselor
First, Lower School
eweiss@keyschool.org
B.A. Davidson College
M.S. Johns Hopkins University
M.S.W. University of Maryland at Baltimore

Sheerod Wilkerson

Facilities
swilkerson@keyschool.org

Stuart Wilson

Librarian
Middle, Upper School
swilson@keyschool.org
B.A. Lake Forest College

Eleanor "Ellie" Young

Math Coordinator
Life Skills Program Coordinator
Lower School
eyoung@keyschool.org
B.A. Bowdoin College
M.A. Johns Hopkins University

Stephanie Young

Mathematics
Upper School
syoung@keyschool.org
B.A. University of Vermont
B.S. University of Vermont
M.S. University of Maryland

Jane Zanger

Humanities Department Head
Humanities
Middle School
jzanger@keyschool.org
B.A. Rice University
M.A.L.S. Dartmouth College

Lee Zanger

Science Department Head
Chemistry
Upper School
lzanger@keyschool.org
A.B. Vassar College
M.A.L.S. Dartmouth College